Style.com

Plus One, and One, and One

Celebrating Scott Lipps' new book, DKNY's big anniversary, and the irreverent Thom Browne

SCOOP
PHOTOS

Chloe Nørgaard.   
more photos

"Dude, I am only here for the male models," said one female guest last night at the Dream Downtown, where One Management's Scott Lipps was celebrating the debut of his new book, Poplipps: Plus One, at a party presented by Nur Khan. There were ample doses of both male and female catwalkers in attendance last night—the average height at the party must have been more than six feet.

Leading the pack was Karolina Kurkova, who, decked in head-to-toe white, had just come from the U.S. Open. "I went to see Novak Djokovic!" she said as she arrived at the The Gallery with her husband, Archie Drury. "What I love about Scott is he is always available, and I can call him anytime—he works really hard and has a great attitude."

After joining his bandmate Courtney Love onstage for an acoustic set in the vein of MTV Unplugged, Lipps talked to Style.com about the new project: "As if I wasn't already busy enough, running the company and being on tour and all that, we decided to do a book." Love, who was seated in a booth at the Electric Room with Lipps, said, "I think that sound system was from, like, RadioShack, for $90—it was terrible!"

Rita Ora gave a performance of her own, down on Wall Street, where she serenaded Donna Karan with "Happy Birthday." DKNY turns 25 this year, and everyone from Karlie Kloss and Joan Smalls to A$AP Rocky and Iggy Azalea came out to party.

Meanwhile, Thom Browne was celebrating with a dinner at La Grenouille hosted by Bon Appétit. A whiplash-inducing blend of propriety and perversion has always been at the heart of Browne's enterprise, so it was no great surprise that the man who showed a hair-raising cast of latex-sheathed Joker-faced maidens at his show would be comfortably ensconced at a temple of East Side politesse. As Bon Appétit's Adam Rapoport recalled in his toast, Browne is a regular: He'd even designed the wedding dress for Gilt's Brooke Cundiff, sitting a table over, for her wedding at the restaurant. And five years before that one, Rapoport himself had been married at the site. Maybe something about La G bespeaks love and commitment. No word on whether it set the wheels turning for Dree Hemingway, in attendance with her boyfriend, Phil Winser.

Subscribe to Style.com today!