American Originals

Michael Kors Tops List of Honorees at the CFDA Nominations Party


Steven Kolb, Nadja Swarovski, and Diane von Furstenberg   
more photos

The CFDA moved its annual Fashion Awards nominating party from the rooftop gardens at Rockefeller Center to the second floor of Diane von Furstenberg's more intimate Meatpacking District digs. This meant that the evening's nominees quite literally rubbed shoulders with the big crowd that came out to congratulate them—not that anyone seemed to mind. Perhaps it was the mild, pre-spring weather, but this year's event didn't clear out quite as quickly as it has in the past.

For Jason Wu, his Swarovski Award for Womenswear nomination (which he shares with Joseph Altuzarra and Prabal Gurung) was the cherry on top of an already outstanding couple of weeks. There was his meeting with First Lady Michelle Obama at the Smithsonian, of course, but what really had him smiling was the taping he did with The View a few hours earlier; he had the iPhone pic with Whoopi Goldberg to prove it. (Warm up your DVRs; it airs Friday.) "They had Carolina Herrera on last week," Wu said, "and to be in that kind of company is really amazing."

Michael Kors, on the other hand, was in a company of his own last night. How does the 50-year-old, whose business, believe it or not, will turn 30 next year, feel about receiving the Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award? "I have to say, I still feel like a kid," he said. "You go around being called a young designer forever, and the next thing you know, you're at this point. But every day, there's still something new."

How's this for something new? After winning the Swarovski Award for Womenswear last June, Alexander Wang has joined the big leagues. The 25-year-old is nominated alongside Marc Jacobs and Donna Karan for Womenswear Designer of the Year.

Burberry's Christopher Bailey will receive the International Award, and the Board of Directors' Special Tribute Award will go to the late Alexander McQueen.

Click for a complete list of the evening's nominees >

Subscribe to today!