September 1 2014

styledotcom "It's really a jungle out there, and you have to have fun & keep your eyes open." @JakandJil

Subscribe to Style Magazine

and the nominees are…


The governor of New York’s extramarital dalliances may have dominated the six o’clock news, but elsewhere in the city another story was breaking. High above the hustle and bustle of Rockefeller Center (the rooftop gardens, to be exact) the better part of the fashion community gathered for the announcement of the 2008 CFDA Fashion Awards nominees and honorees. And, after a brief explanation from MC Isaac Mizrahi about why he was wearing sunglasses indoors (something about pink eye; no need to share, Mr Mizrahi, no need!) the list of this year’s contestants was revealed. They are as follows:

Womenswear Designer of the Year:

Francisco Costa for Calvin Klein

Lazaro Hernandez and Jack McCollough for Proenza Schouler

Marc Jacobs

Menswear Designer of the Year:

Michael Bastian

Thom Browne

Tom Ford

Accessory Designer of the Year:

Michael Kors

Tory Burch

Marc Jacobs

Swarovski Award for Womenswear:

Kate and Laura Mulleavy for Rodarte

Thakoon Panichgul

Alexander Wang

Swarovski Award for Menswear:

Patrik Ervell

Tim Hamilton

Scott Sternberg for Band of Outsiders

Swarovski Award for Accessory Design:

Philip Crangi

Justin Giunta for Subversive Jewelry

Joy Gryson

The Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Acheivement Award:

Carolina Herrera

The Board of Director’s Special Tribute:

Mayor Michael R. Bloomberg

International Award:

Dries Van Noten

Eugenia Sheppard Award:’s Candy Pratts Price.

Social Intelligence